Niseido Ju Jitsu Ranking System

Niseido Ju Jitsu Ranking System

The Niseido® Ju Jitsu ranking system is very uncomplicated. There are six kyu grades and ten dan grades. Age is an important factor in the Niseido ranking system.

There are no Black Belts under the age seventeen. There are no Ikyu Brown Belts under the age of fourteen.

Instructors, no matter what their rank, may only issue rank up to Ikyu independent of the Niseido Ju Jitsu Board of Advisors.

All rank must be commensurate with the recipients age. We believe that a person in their 20’s has yet to master the basic elements of life let alone a martial art. “Only with age and time together, come truth and wisdom.”

Niseido Ju Jitsu Grading System

Niseido students are expected to be proficient with a variety of techniques, that will encompass the following categories:

  • Nage Waza (throwing techniques),
  • Gatame Waza (ground fighing techniques),
  • Shime Waza (strangulation techniques), Kensetsu Waza (joint manipulation techniques),
  • Goshinjutsu (self defense application of above techniques), and,
  • various types of Kumite (fighting).

Kumite will include ground fighting, Randori (Judo style throwing competition), and free sparring. Goshinjutsu trains the student to respond to full speed realistic attacks such as knife, gun, club, stick, bat, choke, punches, kicks, and grabs.

The requirements become increasingly more advanced with each new rank, and with the more basic techniques, a higher proficiency is expected as the student matures in rank.